PACE to watch the presidential and early parliamentary elections in Serbia

A 19-member delegation of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE), led by Aleksander Pociej (Poland, EPP/CD), will travel to Serbia from 1 to 4 April 2022 to observe the conduct of the presidential and early parliamentary elections, alongside observers from the OSCE Parliamentary Assembly, the European Parliament and the OSCE Office for Democratic Institutions and Human Rights (ODIHR).

The delegation will meet with leaders and representatives of political parties, members of the ODIHR Election Assessment Mission, the President of the Republic Electoral Commission, and representatives of NGOs and the media, before observing the ballot on 3 April.

A member of the Venice Commission – the Council of Europe’s group of independent legal experts – will provide legal support during the visit.

* * *

A joint press conference is scheduled in Belgrade on Monday 4 April (place and time to be confirmed).

The Assembly brings together 306 members from the national parliaments of the 46 member states. President: Tiny Kox (Netherlands, UEL) – Secretary General of the Assembly: Despina Chatzivassiliou-Tsovilis. Political groups: SOC (Socialists, Democrats and Greens Group); EPP/CD (Group of the European People’s Party); EC/DA (European Conservatives Group & Democratic Alliance); ALDE (Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe); UEL (Group of the Unified European Left).

Comments are closed.